If you have access to the upgraded Client Access Controls, this article can help you to manage which client a given User account has access to, and which areas within that client are available. This can be set on a case-by-case basis, or by applying 'rules' that automatically control access.
To access it, you must have Administration Tools available.
Step 1: Go to Tools> Practice Management> Users. Click on New Client Access.
Step 2: Once you’ve clicked on 'New Client Access', you will see the below screen:
You will see various cards of the Advisers. It will show you a brief description of what level of access an Adviser has at the moment.
-Client List will show you all the clients that an Adviser has access to, along with modules.
-Edit function will allow you to modify existing settings for an Adviser.
You will be able to add or remove clients and set module access. Once the details are selected, proceed to Grant access as shown below:
-Delete function will remove all the existing client access rights.
Once you've selected 'Delete', you will be asked ‘Yes or No’ as following:
After deleting the Access setting, Adviser will only be able to see the cards he has created himself and below screen will appear when he doesn't have any access to the clients:
Step 3: To create a new card for an Adviser or a group of Advisers, click on the '+' button as below:
Step 4: You will have to select Advisers that appear below the '-Select Adviser to Give Access To-' section of the screen.
Once you select the advisers, the selected advisers will appear below the 'Selected Advisers' heading. After you have selected the advisers you want to give access to, click on 'Proceed to Filter Client' at the bottom right of the screen.
Note: By giving new access to the selected Advisers, it will override the access settings they already have. You will get a confirmation message as below before you proceed:
Click on Yes to continue.
Step 5: In the next step, you can set the client access as per the below Filters available. Reset option will change the filters back to existing ones. Refer to the below screenshot:
Step 6: If you do not click on Reset and proceed to Grant Access directly, You will be asked to select module access in the next screen. Click on Grant Access to save the changes as shown below:
Points to Note:
-Blue colored button reflects the access selected. For instance, in the image above Set Access is selected as 'NO' i.e. no access will be provided to the Adviser.
-If you turn on client access for an Adviser, it will automatically provide him access to the clients that will be added in the future.
-Setting up new client access for an Adviser/User will override his/her existing client access settings.
-To get access to this feature, please contact AdviserLogicSupport@Morningstar.com to request it.